Лютеранская церковь (кирха) в Тюрё

Ingrian Finnish Evangelical Lutheran parish of Tyrö

St. John’s Church 

Cultural inheritance site of federal significance

Architectural style:

Joseph Charlemagne


In 1642, an independent Lutheran parish was founded in Tyrö. Its first senior pastor was Henricus Mattias (1643-1663 yy.). In 1691, a first wooden church was built.

In 1749, another wooden building was constructed by Franz Brower. It existed until 1831.

In 1827, Emperor Nicholas I, having considered a number of projects, decided to build a new, third church. The building was to be of stone this time. An architect was Joseph Charlemagne. New church with 700 seats was consecrated in the name of St. John on January 21, 1831.

In 1865, the number of members was 5736. The parish belonged to the East Ingrian provost. In 1917, the parish counted 8424 members.

In 1936, the church was closed. During the Second World War the church housed a medical battalion, and in later years - cast-iron utensils and canning lids workshops. After that the building was occupied by the Zarya cinema and a local library. In the late 1980s, the building belonged to the Lomonosov Film and Video network and housed a number of cooperatives as well as a House of Culture.

In 1989, the church was closed due to its emergency condition. November 19, 1991, it was transferred to the perpetual use of the Tyrö parish, and already in 1992 an overhaul began. The rededication happened on May 19, 1996.

Present days:

Currently the Tyrö parish is a part of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Ingria and belongs to West Ingrian provost.

The parish holds regular Sunday worship, Bible studies and different cultural events. St. John’s parish conducts active social and diaconal work as well.